Nephrology clinical service at the Hong Kong West Cluster is provided through the Renal Units at Queen Mary Hospital, Tung Wah Hospital, and in collaboration with the Palliative Care Unit at the Grantham Hospital.

The Renal Unit at Queen Mary Hospital include the K18N Ward for in-patients, kidney transplantation, the Peritoneal Dialysis Centre, and ambulatory care, and the Haemodialysis Centre at K18S Ward. Nephrology Specialist Out-patient clinical service at Queen Mary Hospital include the Nephrology Clinic, the Dialysis Clinic, Renal Transplant Clinics, and the SLE Clinic.

The Renal Unit at Queen Mary Hospital is accredited by 国家食品药品监督管理局 (Food and Drug Administration of the Government of People’s Republic of China) for clinical drug trials in Nephrology and Clinical Immunology.

The Renal Unit at Tung Wah Hospital include in-patient beds and specialist out-patient services comprising the Peritoneal Dialysis Centre, the Haemodialysis Centre, the Renal Supportive (Palliative) Care Centre (a joint programme with the Palliative Care Unit at the Grantham Hospital), and the Integrated Chinese and Western Medicine Centre for Chronic Kidney Disease.

The Renal Unit at Hong Kong University Shenzhen Hospital is affiliated with the Nephrology Division at Hong Kong West Cluster.

Specialist Outpatient Clinics

The Specialist Clinics as shown in the following table accepts referrals (with referral letter) of patients in the catchment area of Hong Kong West Cluster hospitals under the Hospital Authority. Non-HK residents will be charged fees set by the Hospital Authority. All cases are by appointment only.

Clinic Day Time Location

Renal (General Nephrology)


2:00 p.m.


Renal Transplant

Tuesday & Friday

9:30 a.m.




9:00 a.m.


SLE (Lupus Nephritis)


2:00 p.m.